National titles were being handed out after Sundays NZ National Canoe Slalom event on the Tarawera river in Kawerau, and successfully defending their titles was no other the Luuka Jones and Mike Dawson.

Jones headed off the competition for the 4th consecutive year with a winning margin of 6.23 seconds over NZ teams mates Louise Jull and Nikki Whitehead.
The men's K1 was even closer with Dawson taking his 6th national title by just 1.05 seconds from Aaron Osborne. Third in the K1 went to Australian Olympian Warwick Draper with 18 year old Callum Gibb, finishing as the third New Zealander. Gibb also won the Under 18 K1 Men's title by three seconds from Carl Whitehead of Te Puke.
The C1 men's and women's top trophies changed hands with Ben Gibb (Tauranga), taking C1 men for the first time and Kelly Travers (Palmerston North), who is studying at Massey in Palmerston North taking the C1W trophy and the U18 K1 women honours. Cole O'Connor Stratton (Tauranga) took the U18C1M title.
The senior C2 event was won by Ben Gibb & Cole O'Connor Stratton (Tauranga) ahead of Otago Uni students Bryden Nicholas & Shaun Higgins with the NZ U18C2 champs for 2011 being Nick Pascoe and Matthew Arnott of Alexandra.
The U23 classes were won by Bryden Nicholas (K1), Luuka Jones (K1W), Ben Gibb (C1M), Luuka Jones (C1W). In the hotly contested U16 class honours went to Finn Butcher (C1), Andre Sperling (K1), Jessica Bailey (K1W), Marcus Norbury/Finn Butcher (C2).