The weather was superb, the venue for both paddlers and spectators was amazing and the event provided some fierce competition among both individuals and schools.

After a 14 year reign as New Zealand's Best Kayaking School the Tauranga Boys' College team succumbed to the mighty South Island team of Dunstan High School for top honours. Dunstan collected medals in nearly every class and reflected the hard work of the athletes and the development plan inititated by Gordy Rayner. Tauranga Boy's retained the Boys' trophy, while Tauranga Girls' won the Best Girls' School title again.

The Phil Dooney Cup for Top Male paddler went to Robert Hervey of Dunstan High School, while the women's equivalent, the Heather Jull Cup and Lucy Forde Trohies went to Anna Higgins of Tauranga Girls' College.

The U16 overall best paddlers were Finn Butcher ( Tauranga Boys' Trophy) and Jessica Bailey (Nicholas trophy).

There were many fantastic results with Cole O'Connor Stratton taking the U18 C1 & U18 K1, but a nightmare DR run and a broken paddle ruled him out of the top overall trophy.

Report courtesy of Canoe Slalom New Zealand